U.S. To Lift Refugee Ban On 11 “High-Risk” Countries.

On Monday, The United States made it known it was lifting its ban on refugees from 11 “high-risk” countries, but also said that those trying to enter would be thoroughly screened before entering.

The 11 countries were not mentioned but are understood to consist of 10 Muslim-majority nations plus North Korea. Immigrants from each county will face tougher assessments before being allowed entrance.

“It’s critically important that we know who is entering the United States… These additional security measures will make it harder for bad actors to exploit our refugee program, and they will ensure we take a more risk-based approach to protecting the homeland.”

Refugee groups say the countries comprise of Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Mali, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

All applicants are being asked to give more detailed histories and proof of their past activities, and many are allowed access to personal electronics and social media accounts.

Last week, Trump proposed to end the 27-year-old “green card lottery” program that aims to diversify the source of immigrants.

Source: AFP

READ  Mo Salah's Statue Gets Everyone Talking (photos)

You may also like...

Leave a Comment Below